Certifications & Leadership

First Aid, Swim Instructor and Lifeguard Training, AFLCA and more

Bronze Medallion

Learn the lifesaving principles of water rescue education, including judgment, knowledge, skill and fitness. This award also certifies the swimmer with a CPR A certificate. NOTE: If needed, materials may be purchased at the location. With scheduled non-instructional breaks, course length may vary. 13Y and up or Bronze Star are prerequisites.

Bronze Cross

Bronze Cross is designed for lifesavers who want the challenge of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for all advanced training programs including National Lifeguard and Instructor certification. Includes CPR C and AED. Prerequisite: Bronze Medallion.

Bronze Cross - Recertification

This course is designed for lifesavers who have an expired Bronze Cross award. This course covers updated water rescue techniques, CPR skills and knowledge and includes an exam. Prerequisite: Previously held a Bronze Cross award.

First Aid - Lifesaving Standard First Aid/AED & CPR C

Standard First Aid provides comprehensive training covering all aspects of first aid and CPR. This course is for those who want an in-depth understanding of first aid such as: medical/legal aspects, spinal injuries, heat or cold injuries, bone and joint injuries, abdominal and chest injuries, burns, and medical emergencies. Includes CPR-C and AED certification. Certification Currency: 3 years from the date of certification.

Lifesaving Swim/Lifesaving Instructor Recertification

This is a recertification course for the Lifesaving/Swim for Life Instructor award.

Lifesaving/Swim for Life Instructor

This certification allows candidates to teach and evaluate Swim for Life programs, Canadian Swim Patrol, Bronze Star, Bronze Medallion and Bronze Cross. Completion of this course also includes Lifesaving CPR Instructor certification. Prerequisite: 16 years old and current Bronze Cross or higher. Apprenticeship: In course. Certification Currency: 2 years from the date of certification.

National Lifeguard

The Lifesaving Society’s National Lifeguard certification builds on the fundamental skills, knowledge, fitness, judgment and values taught in the prerequisite Bronze Cross award. Prerequisite: Bronze Cross, current Standard First Aid and minimum 16 years of age.

National Lifeguard - Recertification

This is a recertification course for the National Lifeguard award.